5 STARS for Rogue Soldier!

rogue-cover-final-6x9

5.0 out of 5 stars

By Greebo on November 29, 2016

Format: Kindle Edition

I’m going to start this review by telling you how much I LOVE Connor and Shawn. Like…really, really love them. Like, wanting to have them come over for dinner just so I can look at them and listen to them talk, love.

I fell for them in “Broken Soldier”, and I was so excited to get this one. I read it from beginning to end in one shot. I didn’t get any sleep, but it was so, so, worth it. Jaime Lynn Miller has written another well detailed, and (obviously) well researched story with a ton of action, mystery, camaraderie, and romance. Oh, and it’s freaking sexy as well!

The blurb sums up the story pretty well, and I hate giving away spoilers, so I’ll be quick about this. Connor and Shawn had an awful experience in the first book, “Broken Soldier”. As the title says, they were broken, but they managed to become stronger in their relationship. They’re still partners at work as well in their personal lives. These guys warm my heart. They’re really just…there…for each other. They’re the epitome of what love is about…supporting your partner through EVERYTHING…not just the clean and pretty times, but through the dark, sad, horrifying times as well. Here, something awful happens to Connor (the blurb tells you, so I don’t really need to say what), and Shawn wants nothing but to comfort his man and keep him from sinking into a deep, dark hole. Along with that, they have to be on top of their game because this particular mission is extremely dangerous. There is an evil mastermind on the loose, along with illegal weapon sales and a formula that will turn biological weaponry on it’s ear. Top that off with Shawn’s ex lover and partner in the CIA (and a total a$$hole) coming into the operation.

Through it all, I rooted for Shawn and Connor. I was never too concerned about their relationship failing, but I was VERY concerned about their lives. Like…LOSING them. Jaime Lynn Miller can really spin a tale. I kept guessing right until the climax of the book. I was impressed with the action as well as the mystery. A lot of times in a romantic action/thriller novel, half of the story winds up getting lost. “Rogue Soldier” has the perfect balance.

As I said, I read the first book in the Shadow Unit series, and I definitely recommend you do as well. If you jump into this one, you won’t be able to truly grasp Shawn and Connor’s love for one another. Also, the other members of the Shadow Unit are introduced, and you should know who they are and what they do. Don’t worry, though, because it’s fantastic as well.

Please do yourself a favor and get both “Broken Soldier” and “Rogue Soldier” because they’re thoroughly enjoyable. I promise you won’t be sorry.

 

Leave a Reply

