4 STARS for Broken Soldier!

Broken cover 6x9 BOOK 1

4.0 out of 5 starsGreat Start to a Series!
By Greebo on November 17, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition
I loved this book! It was such a great read. Once I picked it up, I couldn’t stop reading until it was over. Jamie Lynn Miller grabbed me by my collar, and she dragged me through so many ups and downs, and so many heartbreaking scenes, and I had no choice but to go along for the ride.

I am not going to go into story details. The blurb sums it up perfectly. It’s no nonsense and concise. Instead, I’m going to just tell you how much I loved the main characters, Sergeant Connor Finley and Sergeant Shawn Weller. They are an established couple…partners on the job and in life. We don’t get to watch them fall in love, but we are given snippets of times they spent in the field. Their feelings for each other are obvious and deep. They’re also incredibly dedicated to their jobs at Shadow Unit. They’re willing to do some really harsh things for an assignment, and the assignment in “Broken Soldier” was HARSH. I admired them for this because, lord knows, I would NEVER do what was asked of them. No way. No how. Uh-uh! Watching Shawn doing what he had to do was heartbreaking. I cried quite a bit. Still, he refused to quit. Even when it got to be too much, he wanted to see it through to the very end. Speaking of heartbreaking, Connor…oh, Connor. His love for Shawn never wavers, even when he has to watch him in such a terrible predicament. He wanted to comfort him and pull him out of the assignment because it was killing him…and Shawn. That, to me, is more loving than any amount of hearts or flowers.

Shoot…the assignment wasn’t even the half of it. It was what came after. Shawn’s world was shattered by what he had to do, but Connor never felt less of him. He lovingly helped Shawn come back to himself, and it wasn’t pleasant. What I really liked was how Ms. Miller brought in flashbacks of things that Shawn and Connor had gone through together. Harrowing, funny, sexy…they really helped me to understand the relationship the men have.

I also wanted to point out, without spoilers, the action in “Broken Soldier”. It was VERY well written. It flowed smoothly. Lots of times, action scenes don’t feel quite…real? It is obvious Jaime Lynn Miller did her research, and that made for fantastic scenes. Violent, yes. Necessary to the plot? Yes. Also, it made me cheer for Shadow Unit and thrilled me when they finally brought down the bad guys.

I highly recommend “Broken Soldier”. One more thing. There is a warning in the blurb for a reason. Heed it. Some scenes are disturbing. They’re not over the top, but it wasn’t pretty. Shawn and Connor love each other so much, but it’s not all wine and roses, if you follow me. All in all, this is the start of what will certainly be a fantastic series. I’m excited to see where my men will go next. Read this one.

BUY LINKS:
AMAZON: http://tinyurl.com/zbbwpue
KOBO: http://tinyurl.com/job8hge
ARe: http://tinyurl.com/j5yx5on
SCRIBD: http://tinyurl.com/ze6nm5l
B&N: http://tinyurl.com/zghkqyr

Leave a Reply

