Fiction Friday with Rachel Sparks

I’d like to welcome to my blog today first time m/m author Rachel Sparks! She’s here to talk about her new release, To Be Whole, and what her inspiration was for writing it. Keep reading for how you can win a FREE copy of her novel! Take it away, Rachel!

teaserbookcover

I have been receiving emails, FB messages etc. on why I am doing a m/m book. I can answer all kinds of reasons why or say nothing at all. So a blog hit me.

Back in January I was sick and could only read. Well, that didn’t bother me since I love to read. But then what author doesn’t. After going through many free books, books I already read, I decided to go through my closet and see what I haven’t read in a while. I came across a folder of things from when I went to Limestone College and got my BA in Social Work.

There was a class where we had to write about an event that happened to us in life. It could have been a life changing event or something dark. But it had to be life changing and not having a child or getting married. We had to have it so long and typed up and we couldn’t have our names on it. It was a class of around 15 adults. The professor passed them out for us to read and evaluate ourselves on what we read.

So I took them out of the folder and read them again. One story stood out to me. It really made me think and reevaluate my life now. It came to me on how I thought about things. Most importantly it made me want to change…better myself…stand up for myself…for what I believe in and what I am passionate about.

As a writer we have many opportunities to write about things we believe in and are passionate about. I like to think of myself as a romance writer with a different message. I always want to inspire people and to give them hope.

I also believe people have a right to love who they want to love. They have a right to happiness and love. I want the hatred to stop. It is time we speak life, hope and love. What a better world we would have if we would love and speak life instead of poison.

Blurb:

To Be Whole

The Love They Had For Each Other Was Strong…

~1867~

Adam Colbert took Jarrod Baker up on his offer to train him in the law end of ranching contracts. Adam always believed you could never have enough education. Jarrod felt something for Adam as soon as he saw him sneaking late into the lecture. As they grow closer together and their love grows stronger, family members and outsiders want to break them apart. Will their love last or will they be forced to choose?

Excerpt:

Jarrod found Adam at Ser Toda, the place where they had built their house. He sat on his horse and watched Adam for a little bit. He sighed as he got off his horse and tethered his horse to a tree.

He started walking towards Adam, but stopped. He watched Adam staring at the lake.

Adam knew Jarrod had found him. He waited for Jarrod to get closer before speaking. “I can’t do this anymore Jarrod. There are just too many scars, wounds.” Tears fell down his cheeks.

Jarrod felt like his world was collapsing and there was nothing he could do about it. “Adam…”

Adam shook his head. “Don’t, just don’t. I can’t do this anymore. I’m not strong, at least not anymore.” He looked down at the cane in his hand. “I wasn’t even able to help finish our house.”

Jarrod moved closer and placed his hands on Adam’s shoulders and turned him to face him. It broke his heart to see Adam hurting so much. “Some scars are visible and some are not. I can’t live without you Adam. To me you are beautiful, you are my… everything. Every breath I take, every beat of my heart is for you.” He moved his hands up to cup Adam’s face. His thumbs wiped away the tears. “You are not alone. I’m here, and together we can do this. We can make it. Nobody can break us apart or tear us down, as long as we are together. We are stronger together. I love you Adam, and I know you love me.”

Adam nodded his head.

Jarrod got closer to Adam’s mouth and then his lips covered Adam’s.

Buy Links:

http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/romancesuspense

https://www.amazon.com/author/rachelsparks

Contact Info:

romancewriteriam@gmail.com

https://www.facebook.com/RachelSparksAuthor

Bio:

 

Nominated For 2006/2007/2008 Preditors and Editors Readers’ Poll

Factor Of Love ranked number 14 out of 201 romance novels!

Now Available: Innocent Hearts Of Courage, Unconditional Love, Factor Of Love, Rochelle’s Life, The Invisible Child, Faith To Love Again, A Reason To Love, Love Heals The Broken, Love Makes You Whole {Sequel to Love Heals The Broken}

Rachel has appeared on WGGS-TV 16 Dove Broadcasting in November of 2006, February 2009 and March 2010. Also in March 2008 Rachel appeared on Your Carolina WSPA-TV 7.

CONTEST: Simply leave a comment here (along with your email address) and you’re entered! Simple as that! Contest ends August 5th. Winner will be drawn on August 6th. Good luck!

2 thoughts on “Fiction Friday with Rachel Sparks

  1. Thank you for a chance to win this book I love historical books, especially when they bring to our attention the problems of a forbidden love affair, especially as one of the characters is involved in the lawyer and knows full the repercussions of his actions, but love is blind and hopefully these characters find their happiness 🙂

    I look forward to reading this book and if you are wondering I have posted on another site and I am just hoping that I might win your book. Good luck with your publication and your next one that will have Matt Smith in the feature film version 🙂 [ slholland 30 {at} outlook {dot} com ]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

