What have I gotten myself into?

In a fit of obvious insanity, I signed up to read at the Hot Night Critique event at the upcoming Romance Writers of America spring fling conference here in Chicago.

What does this entail, you ask? Me, standing up in front of God knows how many people, reading an explicit three page m/m sex scene out loud then getting feedback on it.

[facepalm] What was I thinking?? LOL!

This was the most popular event at the last Spring Fling, drawing more than 200 people. Since I want to get my name out there this seemed like a good way to do it. And in a spectacular way, too, since as an m/m author I’m going to be in the vast minority at this event. Thought I’d get up there and shock a few people! And maybe open up a few eyes.

Like our Dreamspinner shirts say: “The only women who don’t like gay romance are the ones who haven’t read it”

It will be very interesting to see the reaction I get when I announce my characters are two men. Will some people get up and leave or will they afford me the same consideration as me sitting through a dozen m/f scenes? I’m interested in possibly joining a local RWA chapter and I thought this would be a good way to feel these women out, if I’d be accepted.

My final choice is a scene from Burnin’ for You after sending it and one from Out of the Shadows to several of my friends, asking which they preferred. My hot firemen won! It happened to be my favorite of the two scenes as well.

Wish me luck next month!

2 thoughts on “What have I gotten myself into?

Leave a Reply

